Bread Recipes

Baking Sourdough Bread at low temperature | How low can you go? | Foodgeek

Experiment time! I previously tested higher temperatures to find the perfect baking temperature for your sourdough bread. Now I am testing the low range. How low can you go?

Buy Foodgeek Merch: https://fdgk.net/buy-merch
Patreon: https://fdgk.net/patreon

Formula: https://fdgk.net/low-baking-temperature-experiment-formula

Ad links!
Sourdough essentials:
Brovn (glass dome): https://fdgk.dk/buy-brovn
Lodge Cast Iron Skillet: https://fdgk.net/buy-cast-iron-skillet
Mockmill Grain Mill: https://fdgk.net/buy-mockmill
Heat resistant gloves: https://fdgk.net/buy-heat-resistant-gloves
Lodge Combo Cooker: https://fdgk.net/buy-combo-cooker
Bench Scraper: https://fdgk.net/buy-bench-scraper
Walnut Lame: https://fdgk.net/buy-walnut-lame
Buy razor blades: https://fdgk.net/buy-razor-blades
Buy cake turntable: https://fdgk.net/buy-cake-turntable
Bowl: https://fdgk.net/buy-bowl
Baking Steel: https://fdgk.net/buy-baking-steel
Proofing Baskets: https://fdgk.net/buy-proofing-baskets
Flour shaker: https://fdgk.net/buy-flour-shaker
Spray Bottle: https://fdgk.net/buy-spray-bottle
Pizza Peel: https://fdgk.net/buy-peel
Brød & Taylor Proofer: https://fdgk.net/buy-brod-and-taylor-proofer
Silicone Spatula: https://fdgk.net/buy-silicone-spatula
Pullman Loaf Pan (small): https://fdgk.net/buy-small-pullman-loaf-pan
Loaf Pan (medium): https://fdgk.net/buy-medium-loaf-pan
Jars for your starter: https://fdgk.net/buy-weck-jars
Small spatula for starter: https://fdgk.net/buy-small-spatula
Stand Mixer: https://fdgk.net/buy-stand-mixer
Silicone Gloves: https://fdgk.net/buy-silicone-gloves
Wire Rack: https://fdgk.net/buy-wire-rack
Jars for your starter: https://fdgk.net/buy-weck-jars
Small spatula for starter: https://fdgk.net/buy-small-spatula
Precision Scale: https://fdgk.net/buy-precision-scale
Cast Iron Combo Cooker: https://fdgk.net/buy-combo-cooker
Pyrex (or equivalent) glass dish: https://fdgk.net/buy-glass-dish
Enameled Roaster: http://fdgk.net/buy-enameled-roaster

My Amazon store fronts:
US: https://fdgk.net/amazon_us
UK: https://fdgk.net/amazon_uk

Follow me on:
Instagram: https://fdgk.net/instagram
Facebook: https://fdgk.net/facebook
Reddit: https://fdgk.net/reddit

Music:
Epidemic Sound: https://fdgk.net/epidemicsound

Guitars in the background:
Alhambra Maestro 400
Gibson Hummingbird
Gretsch G5422TDCG Snow Crest White
Custom Fender Batman Stratocaster

Adlinks!
My YouTube Gear:

Camera and lenses:
Canon EOS R: https://fdgk.net/buy-canon-eos-r
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 II USM IS: https://fdgk.net/buy-canon-ef-24-105mm-f4-ii-usm-is
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM: https://fdgk.net/buy-canon-ef-50mm-f14-usm
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM: https://fdgk.net/buy-canon-ef-100mm-f28l-macro-is-usm

Screen:
Atomos Ninja V: https://fdgk.net/buy-atomos-ninja-v
Angelbird Atom X SSDMINI 500GB SSD Hard Drive for Atomos: https://fdgk.net/buy-atomx-ssd-500gb

Lighting:
Neewer Light Stands: https://fdgk.net/buy-neewer-light-stands
Neewer Heavy Duty Light Stand: https://fdgk.net/buy-neewer-heavy-duty-light-stand
Neewer Light HY-2000: https://fdgk.net/buy-neewer-light-hy-2000
Yongnuo YN-300 III 5500K: https://fdgk.net/buy-yongnuo-yn-300-iii
Yongnuo YN-300 III Power Supply: https://fdgk.net/buy-yongnuo-yn-300-iii-power-supply
Yongnuo YN-1200: https://fdgk.net/buy-yongnuo-yn-1200
Yongnuo YN-1200 Power Supply: https://fdgk.net/buy-yongnuo-yn-1200-power-supply

Tripod:
Neewer Tripod: https://fdgk.net/buy-neewer-tripod
Neewer Fluid Head: https://fdgk.net/buy-neewer-fluid-head
Neewer Ball Head: https://fdgk.net/buy-neewer-ball-head

Sound:
Zoom H4N Pro: https://fdgk.net/buy-zoom-h4n-pro
Røde NTG2: https://fdgk.net/buy-rode-ntg2
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (3rd gen): https://fdgk.net/buy-focusrite-18i8-3rd-gen
SE Electronics SE2200: https://fdgk.net/buy-se-electronic-se2200

Gimbals:
Zhiyun Wibill S: https://fdgk.net/buy-zhiyun-webill-s
Zhiyun Smooth 4: https://fdgk.net/buy-zhiyun-smooth-4

#sourdoughbread #highhydration #bakingtemperature

Original of the video here

Pancakes Recipes
Waffles Recipes
Pies Recipes
Cookies Recipes
Bread Recipes

Back to home page

Video Transcription

experiment time some of you suggested tome that you get better oven spring andbaking at lower temperatures so todaywe’re going to see how low you can golimbo lower now hi I’m soon and I’m afood geek a while back I did anexperiment where a big three Saddlebredsat three different temperatures 300degrees Celsius that’s 572 degreesFahrenheit 260 degrees Celsius that’s500 degrees Fahrenheit and 203 degreesCelsius that’s 450 degrees Fahrenheit ifyou didn’t see that video I’ve linked itin the card above the TLDR of that videowas that the top temperature was just towarm the bottom was totally scorched butboth of the other temperatures madewonderful bread he couldn’t really tellthem apart so in the comments quite afew of you suggested that you can getbetter oven spring at lower temperaturesalso other people were asking why didn’tyou go lower because my oven can’t gothat high so I thought let’s do it thetemperatures that I picked today are asfollows 230 degrees Celsius 450 degreesFahrenheit which will be the control aswe know how that bakes the next one downis 210 C 410 F then 190 C 374 F and then170 C 338 F pardon the weirdtemperatures for you people whoseFahrenheit but my oven is based inCelsius and I can only pick multiples of10 also I will not vary the temperatureafter I uncover the bread because whatif you only have an oven that goes tothat temperature and you want to knowhow that saddl bread beats if you’re newto this channel I big a lot of sourdoughbread and I make delicious food from allover the world my goal is to show youhow to get the most out of everyingredient and I want to teach you howto do that in simple and understandablesteps so join me by subscribing andringing the bell so you won’t miss anyfuture videos if you noticed in the lastcouple ofexperiments up the number of breathsfrom three to four so that we have moredata points I hope you appreciate that Iwill be begging for loaves at 700 gramseach 80% bread flour and 20% darker ryeflour that comes in a very coarse firmsor run it through my mock mill to makeit finer the hydration is 80% and thesalt content is 2.4 percent and it justmakes my bread so tasty the inoculationis 20% which usually makes the entirebulk fermentation take around 5 hourswhen I use my proofer after thestretching folds I will be shaping eachBrad as a batard and baking them fromlow to high temperature so I don’t haveto wait for the oven to cool off inbetween the breads which will take along time because my baking steels letscience the hell out of this bread ifyou’d like to support this channelplease buy some merch or you can use thelinks in the description for tools andingredients or consider becoming apatreon which I’m linking in the cardabove thank youthose were the words this is theexperiment the formula for the bread islinked in the card above and in thedescription first I mix everythingtogether until I have a shaggy mess[Music]I’ll leave it to get to know each othercovered for about an hour then the bulkfermentation starts I plan to do threesets of stretching folds the first setof stretching folks[Music][Applause][Music]the second set of stretching folds[Music]the third set of stretching folds[Music]then I do a windowpane test to see ifthe gluten is coming along and it is[Music]I have my dough to a see-through bulkingcontainer so I can monitor the growth Iput it in my prefer us at 230 degreesCelsius about 86 degrees Fahrenheit whenthe dough has grown 25% I perceived tothe pre shapingI let the dough rest uncovered on thecounter for about 20 minutes then Iproceeded by shaping each bread into apetard[Music][Music]then I put them all in the fridge toretard for about eight hours when theeight hours are upI preheat my oven to a hundred andseventy C 338 F when the oven is readyI grab my dough from the fridge and dustthe bottom of the loaf with rice flourto make it slide off my peel easily thenI flip the bread onto the peel I dust itwith some more rice flour for mysignature look[Music]and then I score the dough and put itinto the oven[Music]and here’s how it looks when it comesout it must be a Scandinavian Brad aspale as that is pretty flat – then Iheat my oven to a hundred and ninetydegrees C 374 F then I grab the nextbread and get that ready dust it[Music]score it fake it[Music]here’s how that looks a little morecaramelization now then the next bread Iturn my oven up to 210 C for 10 F flipitdust it score it bake it here it comesthat’s looking pretty nice time to bakethe control I turn my oven up to 230 C450 F get my bread ready and I bake it[Music]here it comesWow that’s a stunner let’s cut thesebrats in half and see what wonders theybehold as you can see it’s very flat andvery pale the crumb doesn’t look bad butit suffers a bit from being so flat thisone is a bit better both higher andbrowner nice-looking crumb this one’slooking pretty goodnot bad spring and more how I like mybreads great crumb actually I kind oflike this lacy look for my breads andthe last the controls great color andgreat spring this one is a bit more openbut yeah Jam doesn’t fall through atleast if you plug the holes with butterokay this is super interesting considerthe results of this experiment to beoven spring in high hydration bread ifyou were to lower the hydration to the60 to 70% range you’d probably be ableto get less flat there’s no doubt thatthe best oven spring was in the breathbaked at 230 C 450 F you can actuallysee them get higher and higher as thetemperature goes up there was apronounced difference in caramelizationgoing from the from very light at thelowest temperature to deeply caramelizedat the highest temperature thecrispiness was also on a scale fromalmost non-existent at the lowesttemperature to super crunchy at thehighest temperature if you hold the twoexperiments together it seems like thebest range for oven spring andcaramelization is 230 C to 260 see 450 Fto 500 F at least for high hydrationlet me know in the comments if you feelthere’s still something to be uncoveredwhen it comes to baking temperature Ihope you learned something today see younext time[Music]you

16 Replies to “Baking Sourdough Bread at low temperature | How low can you go? | Foodgeek

  1. Advertisements
  2. Awesome video! I appreciate your experiments so much – thank you!! I need to watch some of your instructional videos beyond the beginner one as I see you have changed things up and I’m ready to advance 🙂

  3. Advertisements
  4. A vital resource. Glad someone is putting evidence against all those statements of ‘conventional wisdom’.

  5. Advertisements
  6. Experiment idea: different sized bannetons, same amount of dough. I think many people’s breads suffer from not using the ideal sized banneton for their breads and leads them to have flatter breads than desired, or they misjudge their proofing times.

  7. A really helpful video. Thank you Sune. My oven is too small to use steam, or even a cover or Pyrex bowl. Can you make good sourdough without using steam?

  8. I noticed the bottom crust is very thick on some of those breads. Do you know what variable to change to make a thinner (but still crispy) crust?

  9. That was an interesting experiment, putting to bed the question of optimal oven temperature, all other variable being the same. Thanks Sune, happy bread baking.

  10. I’ve been baking at a steady 475 for several years now. Never going back to higher temps or dual temps.

  11. i just wana say you really helped me get better at bread making from your very reliable recipes to these videos which show you don’t have to stress over bread. Because even though everyone makes it seem like something you must be precise at, you’ve shown there’s a fair amount of give when it comes to bread making.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *